Sep 16 2016

Simply Red bring ‘Stars’ 25th Anniversary tour to Newcastle 22nd Nov

simply red newcastle

Simply Red

Simply Red take their classic album ‘Stars’ on the road this November in what will undoubtedly be one of the highlights of the year. The first half of this special show will feature hits and classic Simply Red songs with the second half featuring the entire ‘Stars’ album in its original running order.

Tickets for these must see shows are on sale now.

‘Stars’ was released on September 30th, 1991 and was the best selling UK album for two consecutive years, 1991 and 1992, a feat that hasn’t been repeated since. It was their 4th album and the first to feature a collection of songs written entirely by Mick Hucknall for which he received an Ivor Novello award for Best Songwriter of the Year in 1991 in addition to a Brit Award for Best British Band that same year.

Simply Red play the following dates:

Sat 11th                                 DUBLIN, 3 Arena
Sun 13th                                 LIVERPOOL, Echo Arena
Tue 15th                                 ABERDEEN, AE & CC
Wed 16th                              GLASGOW, The SSE Hydro
Fri 18th                                   MANCHESTER, Manchester Arena
Sat 19th                                 CARDIFF, Motorpoint Arena
Sun 20th                                 BIRMINGHAM, Genting Arena
Tue 22nd                                NEWCASTLE, Metro Radio Arena
Wed 23rd                              NOTTINGHAM, Motorpoint Arena
Fri 25th                                   LONDON, The SSE Arena Wembley
Sun 27th                                 LONDON, The O2

Tickets go on now. For more details head to

“After the huge success of ‘A New Flame’, I set myself the challenge of composing a whole album of original songs,” Mick Hucknall recalls. “I could never have imagined that ‘Stars’ would have the impact it did. It was a truly magical time. Now, looking on after 25 years, it seems only fitting to celebrate by performing the album in the original running order.”

25 years after it’s release, ‘Stars’ remains one of modern music’s best and most successful albums. It made Mick Hucknall a superstar, turning Simply Red into one of the country’s biggest bands. The album sold over 10 million worldwide, 4 million in the UK.  Today the album sounds as fresh and exciting as it did in 1991.

Stars Track Listing:

  1. Something Got Me Started
  2. Stars
  3. Thrill Me
  4. Your Mirror
  5. She’s Got It Bad
  6. For Your Babies
  7. Model
  8. How Could I fall
  9. Freedom
  10. Wonderland